Wildcats Honored at Award Ceremonies

Major Award Winners.JPG

Dozens of Wildcats were recognized for their contributions and success in and outside of the classroom last week at two of JWU’s student award ceremonies.

On Monday, May 7, Athletics held their annual banquet to celebrate the historic year for JWU Athletics. More than 70 student-athletes earned all-conference honors this year with 8 All-Americans, 2 Academic All-Americans and 2 National Champions. Four JWU coaches were also honored by their peers with Coach of the Year accolades.

Award Winners

Female Athlete of the Year - Katie Walker, women’s volleyball

Male Athlete of the Year - Jay Albis, wrestling

Ron Bachman Athletic Award for Academics, Athletics, and Leadership - Raquel Pederzani, women’s basketball; Eric Russo, men’s lacrosse

Thomas Carmody Award for Character, Spirit, and Community Service - Katie Rufo, softball

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Noelle Weiss, softball; Raquel Pederzani, women’s basketball

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Sam Sears, men’s lacrosse 

Female Rookie of the Year - Jennifer DePetrio, equestrian

Male Rookie of the Year - Claudio Soukamneuth, men’s golf

Coaches of the Year

·         Scott Reslow, men’s volleyball head coach

·         Nancy Somera, women’s volleyball head coach

·         Kim Camara-Harvey, softball head coach

·         Jessica Scannapieco, women’s lacrosse head coach


The following night on May 8, Student Involvement & Leadership held their annual award ceremony. This evening serves as an opportunity to recognize and celebrate the successes of students and faculty who have demonstrated leadership and who truly epitomize what it means to live by the principles of The Wildcat Way: pride, courage, character and community.

Award Winners

Feinstein Enriching America Awards – The Pastry Arts Club and Katheryn Rufo

Advancing in Leadership – Wendy Moreno

Advisor of the Year - Elizabeth Covino (Live Events Association – LEA)

Centennial Women in Leadership - Alessandra Sanchez & Emma Sheltra

Emerging Leader - Wilfredo Ortiz-Beriguete

Outstanding Student Employee - Cameron Durkee

Senior Service Awards - Briana Holley, Renee Bourassa, Milan Wheaton, and Jake Thongsythavong

Student Organization Support Award - Nancy O’Neill

Wildcat Spirit Award - PRIDE Alliance and Drew Duboff

Student Leader of the Year Award - Daniel Loggi

Campus Program of the Year - V-Team/Gender Equity for Vagina Monologues

Cultural Program of the Year - Cultural Connections Club for World Cafe

Educational Program of the Year - Sigma Lambda Upsilon for Literacy Week

New Student Organization of the Year - Sports Management Club

Student Organization of the Year - Live Events Association (LEA)

Fraternity of the Year - Tau Epsilon Phi

Sorority of the Year - Delta Phi Epsilon

Congratulations to all those recognized for these accomplishments!